Board of Directors

Founding Honorary Chairman

  • C. Everett Koop, MD (1916 – 2013)


  • Carson E. Beadle, Chairman and Co-Founder, Security Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York

President & CEO

  • Ron Z. Goetzel, PhD, Johns Hopkins University and Truven Health Analytics

Vice President

  • Seth Serxner, PhD, MPH, Optum Health

Chief Science Officer

  • James F. Fries, MD, Stanford University School of Medicine


  • James Wiehl, JD, Fulbright & Jaworski


  • Steve Aldana, PhD, WellSteps
  • David R. Anderson, PhD, StayWell Health Management
  • David Ballard, PsyD, MBA, American Psychological Association
  • Cherryl J. Christensen, D.O., M.S., FACOEM, The Procter & Gamble Company
  • Michelle Hatzis, PhD, Google, Inc.
  • Rebecca Kelly, RD, PhD, The University of Alabama
  • Debra Lerner, MS, PhD, Tufts Medical Center
  • Joseph A. Leutzinger, PhD, Health Improvement Solutions, Inc.
  • Tre’ McCalister, MA, EdD, Mercer
  • Michael O’Donnell, PhD, American Journal of Health Promotion
  • Kenneth R. Pelletier, PhD, MD (hc), University of Arizona School of Medicine and University of California (UCSF) School of Medicine
  • Bruce Pyenson, FSA, MAAA, Milliman
  • Stewart Sill, IBM Integrated Health Services
  • John F. Troy, JD, Public Policy Consulting
  • Kimberly Jinnett, PhD, MSPH, Integrated Benefits Institute
  • Pam Hymel, MD, MPH, Walt Disney Parks and Resorts


  • Daniel Gold, PhD, Optum
  • Ellen Exum, IBM
  • Willis Goldbeck, Institute for Alternative Futures
  • Jason Lang, MPH, MS, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • Jacque Sokolov, MD, SSB Solutions